skip to navigation

Edit Society Profile

23 Ribadu Road
SW Ikoyi
Web site:

African Ophthalmology Council (AOC)

President: Kgao Edward Legodi
Immediate Past President: Olubola (Kunle) Hassan
Vice President: Ibrahim Matende
Secretary General: Henry Nkumbe
Treasurer: Ciku Mathenge
Director of Advocacy: Feyi Adepoju
Chief Executive Officer: Sidney Gicheru

The African Ophthalmology Council, AOC, is a regional ophthalmology organization, whose aim is to represent the interests of national and sub regional ophthalmological societies across Sub Saharan Africa as well as that of the members of those societies. It is also a platform for ophthalmologists in the diaspora to contribute to the agenda of improving eye health care in sub Saharan Africa.

The AOC is a result of the initiative by the International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO) and Middle East Africa Council of Ophthalmology (MEACO) known as the Advisory Leadership Group (ALG) for sub Saharan Africa (SSA) with the aim to strengthen ophthalmology on the continent.

Stay connected:         Follow us on Instagram

Web site design and web development by D3 Solutions