International Council of Opthalmology
Twitter  Facebook  YouTube
March 2017
Ico Insight : News, Resources, and Events fort he World’s Ophthalmologists

WOC2022: Say G’Day to Melbourne!

The ICO is pleased to report that the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists (RANZCO) has been selected provisionally as the host of the 2022 World Ophthalmology Congress® (WOC), with Melbourne, Australia, as the location.

The selection was made by a vote of the ICO Board of Trustees, which convened at the March 2017 Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO) Congress in Singapore. In the upcoming months, the ICO and RANZCO will define an Agreement of Expectations for WOC2022, and once approved, the Board will vote by email ballot to officially confirm the host, venue, and dates.

The WOC is held in a different region every two years. WOC2018, hosted by the Spanish Society of Ophthalmology, will be in Barcelona, Spain, June 16–19, 2018. WOC2020, hosted by the Ophthalmological Society of South Africa, will be in Cape Town, South Africa, June 26–29, 2020.

ICO Board Selects WOC2018 Medal Recipients

The ICO Board voted to award ICO medals and awards to the following individuals at the Opening Ceremony of the 2018 World Ophthalmology Congress® (WOC) on June 16 in Barcelona, Spain: 

  • Gonin Medal: Jean-Jacques De Laey, MD, PhD (Belgium) 
  • International Duke Elder Medal: Rubens Belfort, Jr., MBA, MD, PhD (Brazil) 
  • ICO Ophthalmic Pathology Award: Sarah Coupland, PhD, MBBS, FRCPath, FARVO (United Kingdom) 
  • G.O.H. Naumann Award: Abdulaziz Alrajhi, MD (Saudi Arabia).

The Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis (AOI), who will be holding their annual meeting at WOC2018, will present the following honor at the Opening Ceremony: 

  • AOI Bernardo Streiff Medal: Paul Lichter, MD (United States). Congratulations to our colleagues on this well-deserved recognition.

ICO Elects Peter Wiedemann as Next President

At its meeting in Singapore, the ICO Board elected Prof. Peter Wiedemann to serve as ICO President for 2018–2020. Peter will begin his term at the conclusion of the 2018 World Ophthalmology Congress® in Barcelona.

The Board re-elected ICO Vice Presidents Prof. Neeru Gupta and Dr. Kgao “Eddie” Legodi to serve an additional two-year term, and elected Prof. Clement Tham to serve as ICO Treasurer. They will join Chief Executive Officer Bill Felch as ICO Officers for 2018–2020.

APAO Medals, Awards, and Lectures in Singapore

The following colleagues were celebrated for their contributions to ophthalmology at the March 2017 APAO Congress: 

  • Jose Rizal Medal: Donald T. H. Tan, FRCS(G), FRCS(Ed), FRCOphth, FAMS (Singapore) 
  • Holmes Lecture: Taraprasad Das, MD, FRCS, DSc, FAMS (India) 
  • Nakajima Award: Vishal Jhanji, MBBS, MD, FRCS (Glasgow), FRCOphth (UK) (Hong Kong) 
  • College of Ophthalmologists Lectureship: Robert Ritch, MD, FACS, FARVO, FRCOphth, DSc(Hon) (United States) 
  • Singapore Society of Ophthalmology Named Lecture: Wan Hazabbah Wan Hitam (Malaysia) 
  • Singapore National Eye Centre Richard Fan Lectureship Award: Dennis Lam, MBBS, MD, DO, FRCS, FRCOphth, FHKAM (Hong Kong) 
  • Singapore National University Hospital
    Hong Leong Professorship Lecture
    : Timothy Blenkinsop, PhD (United States) 
  • Tan Tock Seng Hospital Victor Yong Lecture: Giovanni Staurenghi, MD (Italy) 
  • APAO ICO Mark Tso Golden Apple Award: Lin-Chung Woung, MD, PhD, (Chinese Taipei), who presented the Tso lecture, “A Paradigm Shift in Diabetic Eye Care in Taiwan.”

APAO Scientific and Educator Sessions

The ICO and partner organizations organized nine sessions at the APAO Congress in Singapore:

Scientific and Other Sessions: 

  • ICO-AAO Joint Symposium: Safety in the Clinic and Operating Room: Improving Patient Care and Staying Out of Trouble 
  • ICO International Guidelines to Improve Glaucoma Eye 
  • APAO-ICO Symposium: Diabetic Retinopathy Guidelines and Implementation: Real World Lessons 
  • ICO-WHO Symposium: How to Increase Resources for Eye Care through Evidence Based Advocacy 
  • ICO Exams and Fellowships Symposium

ICO-Organized Educator Sessions: 

  • Student, Faculty, and Program Evaluation 
  • Developing Critical Thinking Skills in Your Students 
  • Managing Underperformance in Trainees: a Framework Towards Successful Remediation 
  • Technology Assisted Teaching & Learning: Reflective Learning.

The ICO also held receptions for members of the ICO Ophthalmic Educators Group (ICO-OEG) and for former ICO Fellows, Fellowship Hosts, and ICO Exams Coordinators.

AOI Symposium at WOC2018

The ICO is composed of 149 national and subspecialty Member societies, and has invited 85 to present sessions at the World Ophthalmology Congress® (WOC) in Barcelona, Spain, June 16–19, 2018.

This month we spotlight the Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis (AOI) session, “Challenges to Cataract Surgery in 2018: How to Deal with the Problems, and Which are the Solutions?” The session looks at the world burden of cataracts and ways to extend the reach of cataract surgery.

To see the list of speakers and topics for this 120-minute interactive presentation, go to:

ICO Member Spotlight: All India Ophthalmological Society

Serving nearly 20,000 members, the All India Ophthalmological Society (AIOS) is making a true difference in improving regional eye health.

Through coordination with the AIOS, more than 200 ICO Fellowships have been awarded to young ophthalmologists from India since 2001. Twelve different centers in India have also provided three-month and one-year training for 131 ICO Fellows from 26 other countries.

The ICO Exams are also a valued component of AIOS education, with 3,857 Basic Science Examinations, 3,902 Optics & Refraction Examinations, and 2,405 Clinical Science Examinations having been conducted at thirteen exam centers since 1994.

At their All India Ophthalmology Conference held in Jaipur in February 2017, the ICO collaborated with the AIOS and their Academic and Research Committee to present a full-day Teachers in Ophthalmology program organized by Dr. Partha Biswas with Dr. Karl Golnik. Among the topics covered were curriculum development, teaching skills, and providing effective feedback.

Presidential Guest Lecturers at the annual conference were ICO Advisory Committee Chair, Professor Harminder Dua, and ICO President, Professor Hugh Taylor, who spoke on “The Latest Developments and Advances in Prevention of Blindness, a Global Perspective.”

Report on Leadership Development in Francophone Africa

Leadership Development Program, November 2016 Leadership Development Program, November 2016

The first Francophone Leadership Development Program of the African Ophthalmology Council (AOC) kicked off November 29–30, 2016, in Cotoneau, Benin, in conjunction with the 11th Congress of the Société Africaine Francophone d'Ophtalmologie (SAFO).

With an opening message from SAFO President, Prof. Fanny Adama, a class of 25 participants from 13 Francophone African countries participated in the program. Prof. Komi Balo, SAFO Leadership Development Program Director, oversaw the program.

Faculty included Prof. Neeru Gupta (Vice President, ICO) who covered communication, negotiation, and governance of world-class organizations, Dr. Mike Brennan (American Academy of Ophthalmology) who addressed leadership traits and key partnerships, and Dr. Annick Mwilambwe (Canadian Ophthalmological Society) who facilitated discussions. The class will graduate in conjunction with the SAFO Congress November 2018 in Dakar, Senegal.

Copyright © 2021 International Council of Ophthalmology. All rights reserved.