skip to navigation

Congratulations to AAO Awardees

Posted on December 5, 2011
Topic: Eye Care

Cngratulations to those awardees who were honored at the 2011 American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) Meeting in Orlando, Florida.  Award winners were chosen because of their extraordinary contributions to ophthalmology, education and service.

Laureate Award The Academy’s highest honor, recognizes ophthalmologists who make exceptional scientific contributions toward preventing blindness and restoring sight worldwide.

  • Alfred Sommer, MD, MHS, ICO Director for Research. A pioneer in global health, Dr. Sommer and his research team found that most cases of measles-associated pediatric blindness in Africa were related to low vitamin A levels.

International Blindness Prevention Award Honors individuals who have made significant contributions to the prevention of blindness or restoration of sight around the world.

  • Clare E. Gilbert, MD, FRCOpth, MSc. A champion for preservation of sight, Dr. Gilbert developed a classification system for the causes of blindness in children, which is now a World Health Organization standard.

Outstanding Humanitarian Service Award Recognizes community service and humanitarian activity.

  • Steven O. Anderson, MD. Founded the Global Eye Mission to develop sustainable eye care in underserved regions, and volunteered service in Africa, Asia and Central America.
  • Mary Cathleen Schanzer, MD. Provided eye care to patients in rural Africa for over two decades, funded a modern eye care facility in Sierra Leone, established the Southern Eye Institute to support mission efforts.

AAO Guest of Honor Three Guests of Honor were selected by AAO President, Richard L. Abbott, MD, in recognition of significant contributions to the Academy and ophthalmology.

  • Bruce E. Spivey, MD, ICO President
  • Richard K. Forster, MD
  • Charles P.  Wilkinson, MD

Stay connected:         Follow us on Instagram

Web site design and web development by D3 Solutions