skip to navigation

Update on ICD-11

Posted on June 23, 2012
Topic: Eye Care Standards, Ethics & Research, ICD-11

The ICO International Classification of Diseases (ICD)-11 Task Force has been working with the World Health Organization (WHO) to revise the ophthalmologic data in the current ICD-10 and create a new generation of classification, the ICD-11.

"The ICD serves as a common language allowing doctors and allied health workers around the world to classify diseases and communicate with each other," said Dr. Satoshi Kashii, Chair, ICO Task Force on ICD-11. 

The ICO’s Task Force is working to ensure the ICD-11 will reflect the latest scientific knowledge in ophthalmology, he added.

The ICD-11 beta phase began May 14, 2012, with the final version to be completed by 2015.   The beta phase provides the opportunity for public comment prior to finalization.  

The ICO Task Force, which serves as the ICD-11 Topic Advisory Group for ophthalmology, is finishing editing of the ophthalmology section. The next step is to add definitions and resolve some remaining ICD-10 codes.

For more information about the ICD Beta phase, go to:

To see the ICD-11 Beta Browser for morbidity, go to:

Stay connected:         Follow us on Instagram

Web site design and web development by D3 Solutions