skip to navigation

APAO Awards Ceremony Honorees and Announces New Leadership Roles

Posted on January 18, 2013
Region: Asia

At the Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO)-All India Ophthalmological Society (AIOS) Inaugural Ceremony on January 17, the APAO honored ophthalmologists for their exceptional contributions to eye care in the Asia-Pacific region and beyond. Ophthalmologists were also named to new roles within the APAO.

"I congratulate my colleagues on their new roles with the APAO," said Dr. Frank Martin, Past President, Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology.

"Rajvardhan Azad, MD(Ophth), FRCSed, FICS, FAMS, has taken office as the next President of the APAO; Clement Tham, FRCS, is succeeding Dennis Lam, FRCOphth, as the APAO Secretary General; and Dr. Lam has been elected to follow Dr. Azad as APAO President, starting in 2015."

  • Jose Rizal Medal: Jialiang Zhao, MD
  • Jose Rizal International Medal: Marilyn Miller, MD
  • De Ocampo Lecture Prize: Tin Aung, MBBS
  • The Holmes Lecture Prize: Clement Tham, FRCS
  • Susruta Lecture Prize: Ziaul Islam, MD
  • Nakajima Award: Jodhbir Singh Mehta, BSc, MBBS, MRCOphth, FRCS(Ed)
  • Arthur Lim Award: Hyung Woo Kwak, MD, PhD
  • ICO Mark Tso Golden Apple Award: Peter McCluskey, MD, FRANZCO,FRACS

Stay connected:         Follow us on Instagram

Web site design and web development by D3 Solutions