skip to navigation

Medal and Award Recipients Honored at WOC2014 Opening Ceremony

Posted on April 7, 2014
Topic: Education, Leadership, World Ophthalmology Congress

The International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO), Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis (AOI), and Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO) honored leading ophthalmologists from around the world during the opening ceremony of the 2014 World Ophthalmology Congress® of the ICO in Tokyo, Japan, on April 2nd.

“The ICO is pleased to recognize these ophthalmologists who have made outstanding contributions to ophthalmic education and to improving eye care for the people of the world,” said Bruce Spivey, ICO President.

The following ICO Medals were presented:

Gonin Medal, for outstanding work and research: Alice McPherson, MD

A groundbreaking vitreoretinal specialist dedicated to the study and treatment of diseases of the retina, Dr. McPherson founded the Retina Research Foundation, one of the nation’s leading eye research organizations, dedicated to promoting the understanding, prevention, and treatment of retinal diseases.

Jules François Golden Medal, for ophthalmic work of high scientific quality:  Peter Watson, FRCOphth

Professor Watson has investigated the clinical course, pathology, and treatment of scleral disease and its complications. But he is likely most renowned for the initiation and development of trabeculectomy with his colleague John Cairns. Professor Watson established the ICO Examination system.

International Duke Elder Medal, for the development of international relations and friendship between ophthalmologists:  Richard Abbott, MD

Dr. Abbott is an internationally renowned ophthalmologist, specializing in corneal and external diseases of the eye, who also serves to advance ophthalmology through his leadership activities, including development of clinical guidelines for eye care.

ICO Ophthalmic Pathology Award, for outstanding research in ophthalmic pathology:  Mark Tso, MD, DSc

Dr. Tso is an American and Chinese ophthalmologist who served as Professor and Founding Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. Much of his early research concerned ocular pathologic findings in retinoblastoma and laser effects on the retina. He served as the ICO Director of Education for 10 years.

ICO Mark Tso Golden Apple Award, for demonstrated innovation or exceptional achievements in ophthalmic education: Charles McGhee, MD, FRCS, FRCOphth

Professor McGhee is a recognized expert in cataract and refractive surgery, corneal and external eye diseases, and ocular imaging. Founding Director of the New Zealand National Eye Center, Professor McGhee leads large research teams, has taught medical student in three universities, and his clinical and research Fellows hold leading posts throughout Australasia and Europe.

Other medals and awards presented at the Opening Ceremony of the World Ophthalmology Congress in Tokyo on April 2 were:

Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis Bernardo Streiff Gold Medal, for an ophthalmologist who has contributed most––through history, ethics, and education––to the advancement of ophthalmology: Bradley R. Straatsma, MD, JD

Dr. Straatsma has advanced the field of ophthalmology and has worked tirelessly to raise the level of eye care throughout the world to preserve and restore sight. He is the Founding Chairman of the UCLA Department of Ophthalmology and Founding Director of the Jules Stein Eye Institute, UCLA, and he is Past President of many organizations, including the Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis and the American Academy of Ophthalmology and Otolaryngology.

Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology Jose Rizal Medal: Dennis Lam, MD, FRCS, FRCOphth

Dr. Lam helped the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences of the Chinese University of Hong Kong become an internationally renowned eye institute during his term as Chairman. He then took on the Directorship of the State Key Laboratory of Ophthalmology of the Sun Yat-sen University, which is the only national laboratory of ophthalmology in China.

Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology Jose Rizal International Medal: David Chang, MD

Dr. Chang is a Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of California, San Francisco, and Adjunct Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology at the Chinese University in Hong Kong. He has received highest honors from international societies and organizations throughout the world, and he has delivered prestigious named lectures.

At its Board of Trustees meeting on April 1 in Tokyo, the ICO also presented its:

GOH Naumann Award, for leadership in global eye care: Ahmed Trabelsi, MD

Dr. Trabelsi is a retinal specialist who greatly expanded the provision of services to people with low vision in the Middle East and Africa. He is Chairman of the Clinique Ophtalmologique de Tunis and President of Nadi Al Bassar (North African Center for Sight).

Stay connected:         Follow us on Instagram

Web site design and web development by D3 Solutions