skip to navigation

APAO 2016 Awards Ceremony Honorees

Posted on April 24, 2016
Topic: Leadership
Region: Asia

At the 31st Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO) Congress in Taipei, Taiwan, March 24–27, the APAO recognized the following ophthalmologists for their exceptional contributions to eye care in the Asia-Pacific region and beyond:

  • Jose Rizal Medal: Tetsuro Oshika, MD, PhD (Japan):
  • Jose Rizal International Medal: Jerry Shields, MD (USA)
  • De Ocampo Lecture: Prof. Jimmy Lai, MBBS, DO, MD (Hong Kong)
  • Holmes Lecture: Shigeru Kinoshita, MD, PhD (Japan)
  • Susruta Lecture: R.D. Ravindran, MS, DO (India)
  • Arthur Lim Award: Ava Hossain, MBBS, FCPS, FICS (Bangladesh)
  • Nakajima Award: Catherine Green, FRANZCO, MBBS, MBChB (Australia)
  • ICO Mark Tso Golden Apple Award: Kanxing Zhao, MD (China)

After the awardees were recognized, Congress President Lin-Chung Woung, MD, and APAO President Dennis Lam, FRCOphth, FRCS, MD, presented a check for US$13,000 to the Nepal Ophthalmic Society. The funds were collected from the Run for Nepal, which was organized by the APAO to help with Nepal’s post-earthquake reconstruction efforts.

Stay connected:         Follow us on Instagram

Web site design and web development by D3 Solutions