skip to navigation

WOC2018 Medal Recipients

Posted on July 11, 2018
Topic: World Ophthalmology Congress

The Opening Ceremony officially marked the beginning of WOC2018 and included welcome remarks from WOC2018 President Dr. Rafael Barraquer, the ICO, and the Spanish Society of Ophthalmology. Attendees enjoyed videos showcasing the wonders of our profession and the history of ophthalmology in Spain.

The Opening Ceremony also celebrated achievements of our colleagues who were honored for their outstanding work: 

  • Gonin Medal: Jean-Jacques DeLaey, MD, PhD (Belgium) 
  • International Duke Elder Medal: Rubens Belfort, Jr., MD, PhD, MBA (Brazil) 
  • ICO Ophthalmic Pathology Award: Sarah Coupland, MBBS, PhD, FRCPath, FARVO, FSB (United Kingdom) 
  • G.O.H Naumann Award for Leadership in Global Eye Care Commission: Abdulaziz AlRajhi, MD (Saudi Arabia) 
  • Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis Bernardo Streiff Medal: Paul Lichter, MD (United States)

Thank you to everyone who joined us in-person for the WOC2018 Opening Ceremony or who watched via the live stream on Facebook. Watch a recorded version of the Opening Ceremony.

Stay connected:         Follow us on Instagram

Web site design and web development by D3 Solutions