skip to navigation

ICO Fellowship Hosts & Training Centers

ICO Host

CURSIEFEN Claus, MD
Cologne, DE
Hildegard.Kraemer@UK-Koeln.de

Host Contact

AUSTIN Jennifer
Jennifer.Austin@UK-Koeln.de

Medical Center

University of Cologne
Dept. of Ophthalmology
Kerpener Straße 62
50924 Cologne, DE
www.DMEK.de

Characteristics of the Ophthalmology Department

Beds
70
Inpatients per Year
7,000
Inpatient Surgeries per Year
6,000
Consultations per Year
30,000
Outpatients per Year
30,000
Outpatient Surgeries per Year
16,000

Staff of the Ophthalmology Department

Number of Attendings / Consultants
14
Number of Fellows / Registrars
4
Number of Senior Residents / SHOs
Number of Residents / House Officers
20
Number of Interns / Clinical Assistants

Regular Teaching Events

  • Y Morning Reports
  • N Grand Rounds
  • N Clinical Sessions
  • N Photo-Fluo Conferences
  • Y Journal Club
  • Y Lectures
  • N Case Presentations
  • N Surgery Conferences
  • N Conferences of Complications
  • N Video Conferences
  • N Research Conferences
  • N (Subspecialty) Seminars / Tutorials

ICO Fellowships Offered

  • Y Observership
  • N Clinical Exposures
  • N Surgical Exposure

Language(s): German, English

Subspecialties

Subspecialty Fellowship Duration Fellowship Supervisor
3 months 1 year
Strabismus Y Antje Neugebauer, MD
Antje.Neugebauer@UK-Koeln.de
Glaucoma Y Thomas Dietlein, MD
Thomas.Dietlein@UK-Koeln.de
Cornea & External Diseases Y Bjoern Bachmann, MD
Bjoern.Bachmann@UK-Koeln.de
Medical Retina Y Bernd Kirchhof, MD
Bernd.Kirchhof@UK-Koeln.de
Vitreo-Retina Y Bernd Kirchhof, MD
Bernd.Kirchhof@UK-Koeln.de
Ocular Oncology Y Ludwig Heindl, MD
Ludwig.Heindl@UK-Koeln.de

Stay connected:         Follow us on Instagram

Web site design and web development by D3 Solutions