skip to navigation

ICO Fellowship Hosts & Training Centers

ICO Host

KIVELA Tero, MD
Helsinki, FI
tero.kivela@helsinki.fi
+358-9-47173110
Fax: +358-9-47175100

Host Contact

HAAPANIEMI Elina
elina.haapaniemi@hus.fi

Medical Center

Helsinki University Central Hospital
Department of Ophthalmology
P.O. Box 220, Hospital District of Helsinki and Uusimaa
www.hus.fi

Characteristics of the Ophthalmology Department

Beds
10
Inpatients per Year
2
Inpatient Surgeries per Year
2
Consultations per Year
17
Outpatients per Year
111
Outpatient Surgeries per Year
12

Staff of the Ophthalmology Department

Number of Attendings / Consultants
61
Number of Fellows / Registrars
2
Number of Senior Residents / SHOs
2
Number of Residents / House Officers
14
Number of Interns / Clinical Assistants
1

Regular Teaching Events

5 Hours per Week

  • N Morning Reports
  • N Grand Rounds
  • N Clinical Sessions
  • N Photo-Fluo Conferences
  • Y Journal Club
  • Y Lectures
  • Y Case Presentations
  • N Surgery Conferences
  • Y Conferences of Complications
  • N Video Conferences
  • Y Research Conferences
  • Y (Subspecialty) Seminars / Tutorials

ICO Fellowships Offered

  • Y Observership
  • N Clinical Exposures
  • N Surgical Exposure

Language(s): Finnish, English

Subspecialties

Subspecialty Fellowship Duration Fellowship Supervisor
3 months 1 year
Pediatric Ophthalmology Y Dr. Paivi Lindahl
paivi.lindahl@hus.fi
Strabismus Y Dr. Laura Lindberg
laura.lindberg@hus.fi
Glaucoma Y Dr. Paivi Puska
Paivi.puska@hus.fi
Cornea & External Diseases Y Dr. Kari Krootila
kari.krootila@hus.fi
Medical Retina Y Dr. Terho Latvala
terho.latvala@hus.fi
Vitreo-Retina Y Dr. Terho Latvala
terho.latvala@hus.fi
Oculoplastics Y Dr. Marita Uusitalo
marita.uusitalo@hus.fi
Ocular Oncology Y Prof. Tero Kivela
tero.kivela@hus.fi
Neuro-Ophthalmology Y Dr. Kirsi Setala
kirsi.setala@hus.fi
Ocular Pathology Y Prof. Tero Kivela
tero.kivela@hus.fi

Stay connected:         Follow us on Instagram

Web site design and web development by D3 Solutions