skip to navigation

Hosted by

Spanish Society of Ophthalmology (SEO)

Co-hosted by

European Society of Ophthalmology (SOE)

Spanish Society of Implant-Refractive Ocular Surgery (SECOIR)

In Partnership with

Catalan Society of Ophthalmology (SCO)

Barraquer Institute (BI)

Networking Events

Opening Ceremony
Saturday, 16 June: 18:00 – 19:00

The WOC2018 officially begins with the Opening Ceremony. The program will include welcome remarks from the ICO, the Spanish Society of Ophthalmology (SEO), and the WOC2018 President, as well as the awarding of ICO and AOI medals. The Opening Ceremony is open to all registrants and will be held in Hall 8.1 at the Fira Gran Via conference center.

Come celebrate the achievements of our colleagues. The WOC2018 award recipients are:

  • Gonin Medal: Jean-Jacques DeLaey, MD, PhD (Belgium)
  • International Duke Elder Medal: Rubens Belfort, Jr., MD, PhD, MBA (Brazil)
  • ICO Ophthalmic Pathology Award: Sarah Coupland, MBBS, PhD, FRCPath, FARVO, FSB (United Kingdom)
  • G.O.H. Naumann Award for Leadership in Global Eye Care Commission: Abdulaziz AlRajhi, MD (Saudi Arabia)
  • AOI Bernardo Streiff Medal: Paul Lichter, MD (United States).

WOC2018 Welcome Reception
Saturday, 16 June: 19:00 – 20:00

Say hello to both new and old colleagues at the Welcome Reception, which immediately follows the Opening Ceremony and is open to all registrants. Light snacks and drinks will be provided. To enter this event you must wear your badge.

Stay connected:         Follow us on Instagram

Web site design and web development by D3 Solutions