skip to navigation

RANZCO CPD Framework and Handbook

Authored by RANZCO
Posted on November 29, 2010
Topic: CME/CPD
Not yet rated

The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists (RANZCO) Continuing Professional Development (CPD) framework is designed to help develop a structured approach to planning Continuing Professional Development.

It consists of three CPD categories reflecting the seven key roles and attributes of a specialist ophthalmologist - Medical Expert, Communicator, Manager, Collaborator, Health Advocate, Scholar and Professional. Within each category, activities are classified as either a Level 1 or Level 2 activity.

Category 1: Clinical Expertise
Category 2: Risk management and Clinical Governance
Category 3: Professional Values

* Level 1 activities provide participants with information. These activities include traditional, passive learning activities such as lectures, conferences and journal reading.

* Level 2 activities are those that focus on implementing or facilitating changes in practice and health outcomes. Key factors are collection of data related to a particular question/issue. These include interactive workshops, conducting clinical audit, critical incident monitoring, and conducting patient satisfaction surveys.

Stay connected:         Follow us on Instagram

Web site design and web development by D3 Solutions