skip to navigation

Ethical Code For Ophthalmologists: Ethical Principles and Professional Standards

Authored by ICO
Posted on May 14, 2010
Topic: Eye Care Standards, Ethics & Research
Not yet rated

PDF (132 KB)    Download »

The International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO) adheres to a set of moral principles and standards to guide the behavior of ophthalmologists within their professional domain. These standards have been published below in English, Russian, and Spanish.

The standards taken together are intended to represent comprehensive guidelines to which practitioners might refer when confronted with professional or ethical dilemmas, and act as a benchmark by which to judge ophthalmologists’ behavior in professional matters.

Nine Groups of Ethical Standards:

  1. Patient Care Standards
  2. Professional Practice Standards
  3. Professional Community Standards
  4. Standards for Working with Other Health Care Professionals
  5. Research Standards
  6. Social Standards
  7. Commercial Standards
  8. Teaching and Mentorship Standards
  9. Standards Governing the Relationship to the Medical Industry

This document was developed by the International Council of Ophthalmology Ethics Committee.

Stay connected:         Follow us on Instagram

Web site design and web development by D3 Solutions